In Portugal's World Cup victory over Ghana, Cristiano Ronaldo displayed "absolute genius" by converting a contentious penalty, according to FIFA technical study committee member Sunday Oliseh.
The seasoned striker was brought down by Mohammed Salisu on Thursday and scored the next penalty kick to become the first player to score in five World Cups. Otto Addo, the coach of Ghana, called the penalty decision “very wrong” and that it was a “present to Ronaldo.”
When asked why there had been more penalties awarded this tournament than in years past, former Nigerian international Oliseh responded, “Maybe the strikers are growing smarter.”
“If you look at the penalty Ronaldo received, let’s be honest: Say whatever you want about this man. But the brilliance notion to just be patient and put my foot to touch the ball first before you, continue my leg so that you make contact with my leg — that is complete genius.
Let’s applaud the strikers for being more intelligent.
In the first round of group stage matches, nine penalties were given. Oliseh continued, “VAR is also a key factor in this (more penalties being awarded), since the referees can now view it three or four times before making a decision.
Prior to playing South Korea four days later in their last Group H match, Portugal play Uruguay on Monday.
2 thoughts on “FIFA Group claims that Cristiano Ronaldo’s “Total Genius” earned him a World Cup penalty against Ghana.”